Alice Makes Some Cards

It’s about time I write about these!

Mom's Day cards

I made these way back in May, before I started this blog. One day I was fooling around improvising crocheted flowers, and I came up with this design that I really liked. So I decided to make a couple into pins for my mom and mother-in-law for Mother’s Day. But it seemed like such a small gift… so I thought I’d make it into a card instead.

under the flower

I had a lot of fun using my sewing machine on cardstock – it makes a super-satisfying pop every time the needle punches through, and it’s a lot easier to make a precise design on a stiff card than it is on fabric.

back view

Of course, I had Caleb sign it, too!

These are the first of many cards I’ve made by embroidering designs onto index cards covered in tissue paper. I’ll post more later, along with pictures of the process so you can see how I do it. It’s not real hard, but it’s time consuming and takes a fair amount of detail-orientedness and precision.

If I ever get around to opening an Etsy store, this is the type of thing I’ll sell!

5 Responses to “Alice Makes Some Cards”


  1. 1 Brittneigh December 19, 2010 at 4:41 am

    omg these are too cute, Alice! I need to learn to crochet. I say this about once a week.

  2. 2 Barbie May 1, 2013 at 8:47 pm

    Lovely to see your creativity in these fun projects, Alice. I’d love to see a post about the paper globes of magic that I’m so fond of (but clearly incapable of making myself). ~ B

  3. 3 Dawn Riggs May 2, 2013 at 4:03 pm

    How fun! You need to update!! I do a lot of stuff too, but mostly post on FB. Hey, I recently (by myself) replaced the ballcock in my downstairs toilet with a new fill valve! Just watched a YouTube video on how to get it done, and I did it! :)

  4. 4 Alice May 2, 2013 at 4:08 pm

    Thanks, you guys! I haven’t stopped making things, just stopped taking pictures and posting. Someday I’ll start again. Maybe soon – it’s fun to hear that you’re interested. Gives me some incentive!

  5. 5 Dawn Riggs May 2, 2013 at 4:27 pm

    Here’s a weird thing. It says I posted at 4:03pm, but it’s actually only 9:26am right now. Hmmmm….


Leave a Reply

